Filing Opens for Aug. 30 Election - Mountain News : News

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

Filing Opens for Aug. 30 Election

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, May 26, 2011 9:09 am

Sixteen seats on the boards of six mountain agencies will be up for grabs in an Aug. 30 mail-in election for which candidate filing will close on June 3.

Candidates began taking out nomination papers on May 9 for the first of two vote-by-mail elections involving mountain public agencies this year. Another, involving different agencies, will be held Nov. 8.

Voters will decide three directorships on Aug. 30, including two four-year terms and one short term, on the Lake Arrowhead Community Services District (LACSD) board, along with two full and one short term on the Rim of the World Recreation and Park District.

Crestline voters will choose four directors on the board of the Crest Forest Fire Protection District (CFFD), two for full terms and two for short terms. At the Crestline Village Water District (CVWD), two full-term seats will be decided, and three directorships will be on the ballot for the Crestline-Lake Arrowhead Water Agency (CLAWA).

In what is shaping up early as a contested race in a small district, four candidates have filed to run for three seats on the board of the Arrowbear Park County Water District (APCWD).


June 3 at 5 p.m. will mark the deadline for nominating papers for these and 11 other local elections around the county to be turned in. In the event an incumbent does not file, the deadline will be extended to 5 p.m. on June 8 for nonincumbents only.

As of Monday, at least one candidate had filed for all the agencies except the Rec and Park board. At LACSD, Blue Jay attorney John Gary Wurm has taken out nomination papers for a full term, but as of Monday had not turned in his papers to be declared a qualified candidate.

Seats currently held by LACSD directors Harvey Durand and Ralph Wagner will be on the ballot, as will be a short-term seat occupied by James Williamson, who was appointed to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Joyce Barkley.

Directors Geoff Goss and Glenn Goodwin are not up for re-election.

Two candidates have filed for short terms at CFFD, including community activist Aaron Drew Creighton, who has been deemed qualified, and Robert Spindler, appointed May 17, who hadn't turned in his papers as of Monday.

Full-term seats occupied by CFFD directors Charles Gibbs and Jerome C. "Punch" Ringhofer are up for grabs, as are short-term seats held by Spindler and Ken Nelsen. Director Leslie Dodge-Taylor is in the middle of her term.


At CVWD, Candidates Scott R. Bledsoe and incumbent Ken Stone are now qualified candidates. Stone and incumbent William Huckell's seats will appear on the ballot, while directors Darel V. Davis, Steven C. Farrell and Rosemarie Wiegand's terms are unexpired.

Three of the five divisions at CLAWA have directors whose terms are expiring. They include the first, held by Thomas L. Sutton; the third, represented by Stephen L. Pleasant; and the fifth, a seat held by Kenneth A. Eaton. So far, Pleasant, the only candidate to file, is deemed qualified.

At the Rec and Park board, full-term seats held by Hugh A. Bialecki and Davis Hudson Hopper will come before voters, along with a short-term seat occupied by C. Jason Bill. Hopper was appointed to replace former director Jeff Rigney, while Bill replaced Roland Pete Hall.

Directors Laura Dyberg and Rick Craig are not up for re-election. As of Monday no one had filed for any seat.

With three of the five directorships in play at APCWD, four candidates, including the three incumbents, have filed nomination papers. Incumbents Jeffrey (Mark) Bunyea, Rick L. Weber and Sheila Wymer are now qualified, while challenger Lupe Jane Ramirez had not turned in her completed papers as of Monday.

Terms of APCWD directors Richard Kuritz and Pat Oberlies don't expire until 2013.

According to the county Registrar of Voters candidate handbook, Aug. 15 is the final day to register to vote in the Aug. 30 balloting. Ballots and voter information packets will be mailed to registered voters in the various agency jurisdictions between Aug. 1 and 20.

Ballots may either be mailed back or turned in to the registrar's office by 8 p.m. on Aug. 30. Election results will be certified no later than Sept. 27, and new incumbents' terms will begin Dec. 2.


  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Online poll